OMD (Late to the Game, as Usual)

10 10 2013

Orchestral Manoeuvres In The DarkYes, I already know that Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (OMD) are the seminal synthpop band of the late ’70s and early ’80s. The question is: how the fuck did I miss the fact that they reformed in 2005 and released albums in 2010 and 2013? I attribute it to marketing. Marketing, commerce, pop culture trends, avarice, blah blah blah.

Happily, OMD entertained my tardiness by travelling back in time to the very distant past–2010–to release their first album in something like fifteen years–History of Modern. And it is amazing. And then they released another album a couple years later in 2013–English Electric, which is equally amazing.

Hold my breasts, Jesus. Is this for real?

Yes. It is, and OMD’s new material gives veteran synthpop duo Erasure a run for their money–and I am a hardcore Erasure fan.

Consider the extended version of ‘History of Modern (Part I)’:

But it doesn’t end there. OMD’s synthpop genius carries on to their song ‘Sister Marie Says’:

Perhaps their most poignantly beautiful song since their reunion is ‘Stay With Me’, from their 2013 album English Electronic:

Actually, come to think of it, I think ‘Helen of Troy’, from the same album, might be even more stunning:

This last track reminds me of a lot of material being produced by newer bands like College, FM Attack, and Parallels. Just look up those last three bands to see what I mean.

Honestly, I am impressed by OMD. They have made an amazing comeback. They didn’t try to kowtow to current electronic dance trends–otherwise they would have ended up sounding like Lady Gaga–rather, they wrote intelligent material which incorporates modern technology to create delicious, melodic pop anthems. That is what I love about synthpop bands. They evolve.

Actions

Information

4 responses

11 10 2013
camilletowe

As much as I admire your honesty you can’t blame it on marketing. I blame it in you being fucking retarded. I can no longer be your friend because I don’t fuck retards. But I do rob then when their retarded eyes aren’t looking. Suck it!

12 10 2013
Brandon Arkell

I think you should suck my cock, get pregnant inside your stomach, and then give birth to a stillborn. Or maybe have a miscarriage. And I hope you feel the lump of underdeveloped flesh sliding down the inside of your thigh while you are lypsynching to ‘Atomic’, by Blondie, in full drag. And then I hope you get hit by a truck.

22 11 2013
Joe Morgan

Hey, since you missed those two albums, did you see their hits compilation called Messages. The cool thing about it is that it comes with a DVD of their videos. The description says PAL, but it’s NTSC, Region 0.

3 01 2014
Brandon Arkell

I haven’t seen it, no! Thanks for the note. I have a multi-region DVD player, so whatever you throw at me, I can put it in the player and it will work. Thanks for the note!

Leave a Reply

